Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Limit search to available items
Record 1 of 2
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Deng, Ming-Dao, author, editor.

Title Each journey begins with a single step : The Taoist book of life / selected, translated and edited by Deng Ming-Dao.

Publication Info. Charlottesville, VA : Hampton Roads Publishing Company, Inc., [2018]
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Nonfiction  299.514 DEN    AVAILABLE
QR Code
Description xvi, 190 pages ; 18 cm
Summary This is a book of guidance rooted in the wisdom of ancient China. Bestselling author Deng Ming-Dao provides key poetic lines that distill the essence of Taoism, organizing them in the form of a journey. The material here is drawn from a variety of sources, including, the Yijing, 300 Tang Poems, and the full text of the Daodejing. As Deng Ming-Dao notes, "We walk the Way each day. We don't know what's ahead, and so it's helpful to have the wisdom of others to guide us. They have left us a message to encourage us. They have spoken of the joys, griefs, and purity that we should embrace. Like good pathfinders, they give us direction and prepare us for what we might encounter. They let us walk for ourselves. We have a wonderful companion for the journey." This profound collection of ancient wisdom is the resource for those looking for daily sustenance and guidance on the path of life. -- inside front cover.
Subject Laozi. Dao de jing.
Yi jing.
Chinese poetry -- Tang dynasty, 618-907.
Taoism -- Sacred books.
Philosophy, Chinese -- To 221 B.C.
Mindfulness (Psychology)
Added Author Laozi. Dao de jing. English.
Added Title Yi jing.
ISBN 9781571748386
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
No one has rated this material

You can...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information