Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

LEADER 00000cam  2200337 i 4500 
003    OCoLC 
005    20200602135302.0 
008    200513s2020    onca          000 0aeng   
010    on1108142518 
015    20190174668|2can 
020    0385677332 
020    9780385677332|q(softcover) 
035    (OCoLC)1108142518 
040    NLC|beng|erda|cYDX|dBDX|dNLC|dOCLCF|dOCL|dNLC|dOCLCA
       |dOCLCQ|dOCLCO|dUtOrBLW 
042    lac 
092    289.96092|bBOU 
100 1  Boucher, Marianne,|eauthor. 
245 10 Talking to strangers :|ba memoir of my escape from a cult 
       /|cMarianne Boucher. 
264  1 Toronto :|bDoubleday Canada,|c2020. 
300    1 volume (unpaged) :|billustrations ;|c24 cm 
336    text|btxt|2rdacontent 
337    unmediated|bn|2rdamedia 
338    volume|bnc|2rdacarrier 
500    Chiefly illustrations. 
520    "For fans of Wild Wild Country, Scientology and the 
       Aftermath and Uncover: Escaping NXIVM, a stunning graphic 
       memoir about a teenage girl who was lured into a cult and 
       later fought to escape and reclaim her identity. Welcome 
       to a place where you are valued. Where everyone is kind. 
       Where you can be your truest self. In 1980, Marianne 
       Boucher felt like a misfit. To the world, she was a high 
       school student with a bright future as a powerhouse figure
       skater. But she always felt like she was performing--both 
       on the ice and off. And then she found her people. Kind, 
       open-minded and totally different. They didn't care about 
       society's norms and expectations--they valued authenticity
       and compassion above all else. And they liked her. Not 
       Marianne the performance, but Marianne the person, 
       stripped of her veneer. Soon, she'd abandoned school, her 
       skating and, most dramatically, her family to live with 
       her new friends and help them fulfill their mission of 
       "changing the world." She was sure the sacrifices they 
       asked of her would be worth it. They were helping people, 
       and they cared about her . . . didn't they? Talking to 
       Strangers is the true story of Marianne Boucher's 
       experiences in a cult that brainwashed her and took over 
       her life. Told in stunning graphic memoir form, with vivid
       text and art alike, Marianne shares how she fell in with 
       the Unification Church--or the "Moonies"--and how she 
       eventually, painfully, pulled herself out."--|cProvided by
       publisher. 
600 10 Boucher, Marianne. 
650  0 Ex-church members|xUnification Church|vBiography. 
650  0 Unificationists|vBiography. 
655  7 Autobiographies.|2lcgft 
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Nonfiction Graphic Novels-NEW  289.96092 BOU    AVAILABLE