Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Tweedy, Damon, author.

Title Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine / Damon Tweedy, M.D.

Edition First edition.
Publication Info. New York : Picador, 2015.
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Nonfiction  610.92 TWE    DUE 02-06-21
 Nichols Adult Nonfiction  610.92 TWE    AVAILABLE
QR Code
Description 294 pages : portrait ; 24 cm
Bibliography Includes bilbiographical references (pages 289-291).
Summary "When Damon Tweedy first enters the halls of Duke University Medical School on a full scholarship, he envisions a bright future where his segregated, working class background will become largely irrelevant. Instead, he finds that he has joined a new world where race is front and center. When one of his first professors mistakes him for a maintenance worker, it is a moment that crystallizes the challenges he will face throughout his early career. Making matters worse, in lecture after lecture the common refrain for numerous diseases resounds, "More common in blacks than whites." In riveting, honest prose, Black Man in a White Coat examines the complex ways in which both black doctors and patients must navigate the difficult and often contradictory terrain of race and medicine. As Tweedy transforms from student to practicing physician, he discovers how often race influences his encounters with patients. Through their stories, he illustrates the complex social, cultural, and economic factors at the root of most health problems in the black community. These elements take on greater meaning when Tweedy finds himself diagnosed with a chronic disease far more common among black people. In this powerful, moving, and compassionate book, Tweedy deftly explores the challenges confronting black doctors, and the disproportionate health burdens faced by black patients, ultimately seeking a way forward to better treatment and more compassionate care.- For readers of Atul Gawande, Sandeep Jauhar, Pauline W. Chen, and Henrietta Lacks"-- Provided by publisher.
Contents Disparities -- Barriers -- Perseverance.
Subject Tweedy, Damon -- Health.
African American physicians -- North Carolina -- Biography.
Physicians (General practice) -- North Carolina -- Biography.
Discrimination in medical care -- North Carolina.
Genre Autobiographies.
ISBN 9781250044631 (hardback)
1250044634 (hardback)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
BOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information