Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

LEADER 00000pam  2200337 i 4500 
003    DLC 
005    20191202122520.0 
008    190307s2019    maua     b    001 0 eng c 
010      2019008271 
020    9781614296256 (hardcover : alk. paper) 
040    LBSOR/DLC|beng|erda|cLBSOR|dNjBwBT|dUtOrBLW 
042    pcc 
082 00 294.3/444|223 
092    294.3444|bBST 
100 0  Bstan-ʼdzin-rgya-mtsho,|cDalai Lama XIV,|d1935-|eauthor. 
245 10 Following in the Buddha's footsteps /|cBhikṣu Tenzin 
       Gyatso, the Fourteenth Dalai Lama and Bhikṣuṇī Thubten 
264  1 Somerville, MA, USA :|bWisdom,|c[2019] 
300    xxi, 520 pages :|billustrations ;|c24 cm. 
336    text|2rdacontent 
337    unmediated|2rdamedia 
338    volume|2rdacarrier 
504    Includes bibliographical references and index. 
505 00 |tTrustworthy spiritual guidance --|tQualities of the 
       Buddha, Dharma, and Saṅgha --|tHeartfelt connection to the
       three jewels --|tThe higher training in ethical conduct --
       |tSangha: the monastic community --|tThe higher training 
       in concentration and the perfection of meditative 
       stability --|tObstacles and antidotes --|tThe meditative 
       absorptions --|tConcentration in the Pli tradition --|tThe
       practice of serenity in Chinese Buddhism --|tHigher 
       training in wisdom: the role of mindfulness and 
       introspective awareness --|tThe four establishments of 
       mindfulness: body, feelings, and mind --|tThe four 
       establishments of mindfulness: phenomena --|tThe thirty-
       seven harmonies with awakening. 
520    "The fourth volume of the Dalai Lama's definitive series 
       on the path to awakening, The Three Jewels of Refuge and 
       the Three Higher Trainings, delves into the substance of 
       spiritual practice. You'll first hear His Holiness's 
       explanation of the Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha, why they 
       are reliable guides on the path, and how to relate to 
       them. His Holiness then describes the three essential 
       trainings common to all Buddhist traditions: the higher 
       trainings in ethical conduct, concentration, and wisdom. 
       The chapters on ethical conduct show us how to live a life
       free of harm to self or others. Those on concentration 
       give us detailed instructions on how to develop single-
       pointed concentration as well as the higher states of 
       concentration available to an earnest practitioner. The 
       chapters on wisdom contain in-depth teachings on the noble
       eightfold path and the four establishments of mindfulness 
       for developing greater awareness and understanding of our 
       body, feelings, mind, and other phenomena. Together these 
       topics form the core of Buddhist practice"--|cProvided by 
650  0 Threefold refuge. 
650  0 Enlightenment (Buddhism) 
650  0 Buddhism|xDoctrines. 
700 0  Thubten Chodron,|d1950-|eauthor. 
830  0 Library of wisdom and compassion ;|vvolume 4. 
Location Call No. Status
 Nichols Adult Nonfiction-NEW  294.3444 BST    AVAILABLE