Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Mahoney, Rosemary, author, narrator.

Title For the benefit of those who see: dispatches from the world of the blind [Hoopla electronic resource] / Rosemary Mahoney.

Edition Unabridged.
Imprint [United States] : Hachette Audio : Made available through hoopla, 2014.
QR Code
Description 1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
Access Digital content provided by hoopla.
Performer Read by the author.
Summary In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject Teachers of the blind. -- Sound recordings.
Blind, Workers for the. -- Sound recordings.
Blind -- Education -- India. -- Sound recordings.
Blind -- Services for -- India. -- Sound recordings.
Mahoney, Rosemary.
Added Author Mahoney, Rosemary.
hoopla digital.
ISBN 9781478925279 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
1478925272 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Music No. MWT11608754
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EAUDIOBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information