Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

LEADER 00000nam a22003498i 4500 
001    sky302566432 
003    SKY 
005    20210607104836.0 
008    201117s2021    scu           000 1 eng   
010    2020046269 
015    GBC161184|2bnb 
020    9781938235771|q(hardcover) 
020    1938235770|q(hardcover) 
040    DLC|beng|erda|cDLC|dSKYRV|dUtOrBLW 
042    pcc 
043    a-ii---|an-us--- 
092    |fF|aENJETI 
100 1  Enjeti, Anjali,|eauthor. 
245 14 The parted earth /|cAnjali Enjeti. 
263    2105 
264  1 Spartanburg, SC :|bHub City Press,|c[2021] 
300    261 pages ;|c23 cm 
336    text|btxt|2rdacontent 
337    unmediated|bn|2rdamedia 
338    volume|bnc|2rdacarrier 
520    "Spanning more than half a century and cities from New 
       Delhi to Atlanta, Anjali Enjeti's debut is a heartfelt and
       human portrait of the long shadow of the Partition of the 
       Indian subcontinent on the lives of three generations. The
       story begins in August 1947. Unrest plagues the streets of
       New Delhi leading up to the birth of the Muslim majority 
       nation of Pakistan, and the Hindu majority nation of 
       India. Sixteen-year-old Deepa navigates the changing 
       politics of her home, finding solace in messages of 
       intricate origami from her secret boyfriend Amir. Soon 
       Amir flees with his family to Pakistan and a tragedy 
       forces Deepa to leave the subcontinent forever. The story 
       also begins nearly seven decades later and half a world 
       away, in Atlanta. While grieving both a pregnancy loss and
       the implosion of her marriage, Deepa's granddaughter Shan 
       begins the search for her estranged grandmother, a prickly
       woman who had no interest in knowing her. When she begins 
       to piece together her family history shattered by the 
       Partition, Shan discovers how little she actually knows 
       about her ancestors and what they endured. For readers of 
       Jess Walter's Beautiful Ruins and Min Jin Lee's Pachinko, 
       The Parted Earth follows characters on their search for 
       identity after loss uproots their lives. Above all, it is 
       a novel about families weathering the lasting violence of 
       separation, and how it can often take a lifetime to find 
       unity and peace"--|cProvided by publisher. 
650  0 East Indian Americans|vFiction. 
650  0 Families|vFiction. 
651  0 India|xHistory|yPartition, 1947|vFiction. 
655  7 Historical fiction.|2gsafd 
Location Call No. Status
 Naper Blvd. Adult Fiction-NEW  F ENJETI    AVAILABLE
 Nichols Adult Fiction  F ENJETI    AVAILABLE