Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Record 4 of 7
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Hiranandani, Veera.

Title The night diary [Overdrive electronic resource] / Veera Hiranandani.

Imprint 2018.
QR Code
Description 1 online resource
Summary In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided countryIt's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders. Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together.Told through Nisha's letters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girl's search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future.
Audience Text Difficulty 3
Note Text Difficulty 3
Audience 700 Lexile.
Note 700 Lexile.
Audience 700L Lexile
Note 700L Lexile
Study Program Accelerated Reader MG 4.5 8 194398
Note Accelerated Reader MG 4.5 8 194398
Reproduction Electronic reproduction. New York : Dial Books, 2018. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 2315 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Subject Refugees -- Juvenile fiction.
Diaries -- Juvenile fiction.
Family life -- India -- Juvenile fiction.
Hindus -- Juvenile fiction.
Muslims -- Juvenile fiction.
India -- History -- Partition, 1947 -- Juvenile fiction.
Local Subject BATTLE OF THE BOOKS DIST 203, 2019-2020
BATTLE OF THE BOOKS DIST 203, 2020-2021
REBECCA CAUDILL AWARD [2020 NOMINEE]
Genre Electronic books.
Other Form: Original 9780735228511
ISBN 9780735228535 (electronic bk)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information
Find another book like this at Novelist