Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author nabhga, Vivka, author.

Title Ghachar ghochar / Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur. [Axis 360 electronic resource]

Publication Info. New York, New York : Penguin Books, [2017]
QR Code
Description 1 online resource (119 pages)
text file rda
Summary A close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company, but as the family begins to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, their dynamics begin to shift.
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Families -- India -- Fiction.
India -- Social conditions -- Fiction.
Genre Domestic fiction.
Pscyhological fiction.
Added Author Perur, Srinath, translator.
Other Form: Electronic reproduction of (manifestation): nabhga, Vivka. Ghachar ghochar New York, New York : Penguin Books, [2017] 9780143111689 (DLC) 2016027137 (OCoLC)950444129
ISBN 9781101992944 :
1101992948 :
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information
Find another book like this at Novelist