Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Aziz Amna, Dur E., author.

Title American fever : a novel / Dur e Aziz Amna.

Publication Info. New York : Arcade Publishing, [2022]
1 hold on first copy returned of 1 copy
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Fiction-NEW  F AZIZ    DUE 12-05-22
QR Code
Description 232 pages ; 24 cm
Summary "For fans of Valeria Luiselli and Mohsin Hamid comes a fresh new perspective on coming-of-age as a Pakistani Muslim in rural America. "This is a fearless, exacting, essential work, and marks the debut of a thrilling new global voice."-Peter Ho Davies, author of The Welsh Girl. On a year-long exchange program in rural Oregon, sixteen-year-old Hira must swap Kashmiri chai for volleyball practice and understand why everyone around her seems to dislike Obama. A skeptically witty narrator, Hira finds herself stuck between worlds. The experience is memorable for reasons both good and bad; a first kiss, new friends, racism, Islamophobia, homesickness. Along the way Hira starts to feel increasingly unwell until she begins coughing up blood, and receives a diagnosis of tuberculosis, pushing her into quarantine and turning her newly established home away from home upside down. American Fever is a compelling and laugh-out-loud funny novel about adolescence, family, otherness, religion, the push-and-pull of home. It marks the entrance on the international literary scene of the brilliant fresh voice of Dur e Aziz Amna"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Foreign study -- Fiction.
Coming of age -- Fiction.
Pakistanis -- United States -- Fiction.
Teenage girls -- Oregon -- Fiction.
Muslim teenagers -- Oregon -- Fiction.
Genre Bildungsromans.
ISBN 9781950994496 (hardback)
195099449X (hardback)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
BOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information
Find another book like this at Novelist