Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

LEADER 00000cam  2200409Ki 4500 
001    927144082 
003    OCoLC 
005    20151111113712.0 
006    m     o  d         
007    cr cnu---unuuu 
008    151029s2015    nyu     o     000 0aeng d 
020    9781101967423 
020    1101967420 
035    (OCoLC)927144082 
037    0017099527|bAXIS360 
040    TEFOD|beng|erda|epn|cTEFOD|dIDEBK|dOCLCO|dGCmBT 
043    s-ag---|ae-uk--- 
082 04 371.10092|223 
100 1  Michell, Tom. 
245 14 The penguin lessons |h[Axis 360 electronic resource] :
       |bwhat I learned from a remarkable bird /|cTom Michell. 
264  1 New York :|bBallantine Books,|c2015. 
300    1 online resource. 
336    text|btxt|2rdacontent 
337    computer|bc|2rdamedia 
338    online resource|bcr|2rdacarrier 
520    "A unique and moving real-life story of the extraordinary 
       bond between a young teacher and a penguin, this book will
       delight readers who loved Marley & Me, Dewey the Library 
       Cat, The Good Good Pig, and any book by Jon Katz. In 1975,
       twenty-three-year-old Englishman Tom Michell follows his 
       wanderlust to Argentina, where he becomes assistant master
       at a prestigious boarding school. But Michell's adventures
       really begin when, on a weekend in Uraguay, he rescues a 
       penguin covered in oil from an ocean spill, cleans the 
       bird up, and attempts to return him to the sea. But the 
       penguin refuses to leave his rescuer's side. "That was the
       moment at which he became my penguin, and whatever the 
       future held, we'd face it together," says Michell in this 
       charming memoir. Michell names the penguin Juan Salvador 
       ("John Saved"), but Juan Salvador, as it turns out, is the
       one who saves Michell. After Michell smuggles the bird 
       back to Argentina and into his campus apartment, word 
       spreads about the young Englishman's unusual roommate. 
       Juan Salvador is suddenly the center of attention--as 
       mascot of the rugby team, confidant to the dorm 
       housekeeper, co-host of Michell's parties, and an 
       unprecedented swimming coach to a shy boy. Even through 
       the collapse of the Peronist government and amid the 
       country's economic and political strife, Juan Salvador 
       brings joy to everyone around him--especially Michell, who
       considers the affectionate animal a compadre and kindred 
       spirit. Witty and heartwarming, The Penguin Lessons is a 
       classic in the making, a story that is both absurd and 
       wonderful, exactly like Juan Salvador"--|cProvided by 
       publisher. 
520    "Whether as rugby team mascot or assistant swimming coach,
       the penguin known as Juan Salvador touches and transforms 
       everyone he encounters, including Tom Michell, the young 
       teacher who finds him and rescues him from an oil spill 
       disaster. After a time, Juan Salvador (meaning "the saved 
       one") receives a new name: Juan Salvado, or "the savior." 
       Set against the turbulent world of political unrest of 
       1970s Argentina, this multi-layered true story is a 
       testament and tribute to animals and will no doubt 
       resonate with the people who love them"--|cProvided by 
       publisher. 
600 10 Michell, Tom. 
600 10 Michell, Tom|xTravel|zArgentina. 
650  0 Teachers|zArgentina|vBiography. 
650  0 Teachers|zGreat Britain|vBiography. 
650  0 Penguins|vBiography. 
650  0 Human-animal relationships. 
651  0 Argentina|xPolitics and government|y1955-1983. 
655  7 Electronic books.|2local 
710 2  Baker & Taylor Axis 360 
776 08 |iPrint version:|aMichell, Tom.|tPenguin lessons
       |z9781101967416|w(DLC)  2015026959|w(OCoLC)921240281 
856 4  |uhttp://naper.axis360.baker-taylor.com/
       Title?itemid=0017099527