Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

LEADER 00000cam  2200577Ii 4500 
003    OCoLC 
005    20200602135248.0 
008    200127s2020    nyua   d 6    000 0aeng d 
010    on1137374420 
020    9780062685100|q(hardcover) 
020    0062685104 
020    9780062685094 
020    0062685090 
035    (OCoLC)1137374420 
040    VAJ|beng|erda|cVAJ|dOPW|dOCO|dOCLCO|dUtOrBLW 
043    n-us-va|an-us---|aa-kr---|an-us-al 
082 04 741.5092|aB|223 
092    741.5092|bHA 
100 1  Ha, Robin,|eauthor,|eartist. 
245 10 Almost American girl :|ban illustrated memoir /|cRobin Ha.
250    First edition. 
264  1 New York, N.Y. :|bBalzer + Bray, HarperAlley, imprints of 
       HarperCollinsPublishers,|c[2020] 
300    227 pages :|bcolor illustrations ;|c24 cm 
336    text|btxt|2rdacontent 
337    unmediated|bn|2rdamedia 
338    volume|bnc|2rdacarrier 
500    Chiefly illustrations. 
520 0  "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about 
       immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--
       perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. 
       For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her 
       mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a 
       single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it 
       has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to 
       visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes
       a permanent relocation--following her mother's 
       announcement that she's getting married--Robin is 
       devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped 
       into a new school where she doesn't understand the 
       language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut 
       off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her 
       beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new 
       stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one 
       person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's
       mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which 
       opens the window to a future Robin could never have 
       imagined"--Amazon.com. 
600 10 Ha, Robin|vComic books, strips, etc. 
650  0 Authors, American|zVirginia|zFalls Church|vBiography
       |vComic books, strips, etc. 
650  0 Emigration and immigration. 
650  0 Immigrants. 
650  0 Mothers and daughters. 
650  0 Single mothers. 
650  0 Teenage girls|xIdentity. 
650  0 Koreans|zUnited States. 
650  0 Stepfamilies. 
650  0 English language|xStudy and teaching. 
650  0 Korean American families. 
650  0 Korean Americans. 
650  0 Comic books, strips, etc.|xAuthorship. 
650  0 Women immigrants|vBiography. 
650  0 Women illustrators|vBiography. 
651  0 Korea. 
651  0 Alabama. 
655  7 Autobiographies.|2lcgft 
655  7 Biographies.|2lcgft 
655  7 Comics (Graphic works)|2lcgft 
655  7 Graphic novels.|2lcgft 
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Nonfiction Graphic Novels  741.5092 HA    DUE 02-03-21
 Naper Blvd. Adult Nonfiction Graphic Novels  741.5092 HA    AVAILABLE
 Nichols Adult Nonfiction Graphic Novels  741.5092 HA    AVAILABLE