Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Peres, Daniel.

Title As needed for pain [UNABRIDGED sound recording] : a memoir of addiction / Dan Peres.

Edition Unabridged.
Publication Info. [New York, NY] : Harper Audio, 2020
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Books on CD Nonfiction  362.293092 PER    AVAILABLE
QR Code
Description 5 audio discs (6 1/2 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
digital rdatr
optical rdarm
audio file rdaft
CD audio
Note Title from container.
Compact discs.
Performer Read by Joe Hempel.
Summary "In the vein of Mary Karr's Lit, Augusten Burroughs' Dry and Sarah Hepola's Blackout, As Needed for Pain is a raw and riveting--and often wryly funny--addiction memoir from one of New York media's most accomplished editors which explores his never-before-told story of opioid addiction and the drastic impact it had on his life and career. Dan Peres wasn't born to be a media insider. He was an awkward, magic-obsessed adolescent, and nothing was further from his reality than the catwalks of Paris or the hallways of glossy-magazine publishes. A gifted writer and shrewd cultural observer, Peres eventually took the leap--even when it meant he had to fake a sense of belonging in a new world of famed fashion designers, celebrities, and some of media's biggest names. But he had a secret: opiates. Peres's career as an editor at W magazine ad Details is well publicized, but little is known about his private life as a high-functioning drug addict. In [this book], Peres lays bare for the first time the extent of his drug use--at one point, a sixty-pill-a-day habit. By turns humorous and gripping, Peres's story is a cautionary comping-of -age tale filled with unforgettable characters and breathtaking brushes with disaster. But the heart of this book is his journey from outsider to insecure insider, what got him there, and how he found his way back from a killing addition. [This book] also offers a rare glimpse into New York media's past--a time when print magazines mattered--and a rarefied world of wealth, power, and influence. Ultimately, Peres unveils a brilliant, shocking dissection of a life teetering on the edge of destruction--and what it takes to pull that life back from the brink."-- Summary from print material.
Subject Peres, Daniel.
Drug addicts -- Rehabilitation -- United States -- Case studies -- Sound recordings.
Opioid abuse -- United States -- Sound recordings.
Periodical editors -- United States -- Biography -- Sound recordings.
Editors -- United States -- Biography -- Sound recordings.
Opioid abuse -- Sound recordings.
Genre Autobiographies.
Audiobooks.
Added Author Hempel, Joe.
ISBN 9781094113807
1094113808
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
BOOK ON CD
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information