Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Record 2 of 2
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Bertsche, Rachel, author.

Title Jennifer, gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time / Rachel Bertsche. [Axis 360 electronic resource]

Publication Info. Jennifer, Gwyneth, and me.
New York : Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2014]
QR Code
Description 1 online resource (xx, 234 pages)
text file rda
Contents Chapter 1 -- Jennifer Aniston's Body -- Chapter 2 -- Gwyneth Paltrow's Kitchen -- Chapter 3 -- Sarah Jessica Parker's Wardrobe -- Chapter 4 -- Tina Fey's Work Ethic -- Chapter 5 -- Jennifer Garner's Marriage -- Chapter 6 -. Julia Roberts's Serenity -- Chapter 7 -Jessica Alba's Pregnancy -- Chapter 8 -- Beyonce: The Whole Package.
Summary For fans of The Happiness Project and The Year of Living Biblically comes a pointed look at our fascination with celebrities, as one woman strives to remake herself in the image of her favorite stars. What woman hasn't seen pictures of Jennifer Aniston, Gwyneth Paltrow, or Beyonce and wished she had their clothes, their abs, their seemingly flawless lives' For Rachel Bertsche, these celebrities are the epitome of perfection'self-assured and effortlessly cool. Yet lately, between juggling her career, her marriage, and her dream of becoming a mother, Bertsche feels anything but put together. In Jennifer, Gwyneth & Me, Bertsche embarks on a quest to emulate her Hollywood role models'while sticking to a budget'to see if they really hold the keys to happiness. While trying to unlock the stars' secrets, from Sarah Jessica Parker's wardrobe to Julia Roberts's sense of calm to'maybe one day'Jessica Alba's chic pregnancy, Bertsche learns valuable lessons. A toned body doesn't come easy or cheap, avoiding social media can do wonders for your peace of mind, and confidence is the key accessory for pulling off any outfit. But can she immerse herself in the A-list lifestyle and still stay true to herself' And will her pursuit of perfection really lead to happiness' Praise for Rachel Bertsche's MWF Seeking BFF "Written with verve, insight, and humor ... Bertsche writes cleverly, but not glibly, about the challenges young women face today."'Chicago Tribune "[A] charming, funny chronicle."'People.
The author recounts her efforts to achieve happiness by emulating her favorite Hollywood stars, whose public personas appear so effortlessly perfect, and shares what she learned in the process.
"For fans of The Happiness Project and The Year of Living Biblically comes a pointed look at our fascination with celebrities, as one woman strives to remake herself in the image of her favorite stars. What woman hasn't seen pictures of Jennifer Aniston, Gwyneth Paltrow, or Beyonce and wished she had their clothes, their abs, their seemingly flawless lives? For Rachel Bertsche, these celebrities are the epitome of perfection--self-assured and effortlessly cool. Yet lately, between juggling her career, her marriage, and her dream of becoming a mother, Bertsche feels anything but put together. In Jennifer, Gwyneth & Me, Bertsche embarks on a quest to emulate her Hollywood role models--while sticking to a budget--to see if they really hold the keys to happiness. While trying to unlock the stars' secrets, from Sarah Jessica Parker's wardrobe to Julia Roberts's sense of calm to--maybe one day--Jessica Alba's chic pregnancy, Bertsche learns valuable lessons. A toned body doesn't come easy or cheap, avoiding social media can do wonders for your peace of mind, and confidence is the key to pulling off any outfit. But can she immerse herself in the A-list lifestyle and still stay true to herself? And will her pursuit of perfection really lead to happiness? Praise for Rachel Bertsche's MWF Seeking BFF "Written with verve, insight, and humor. Bertsche writes cleverly, but not glibly, about the challenges young women face today."--Chicago Tribune "[A] charming, funny chronicle."--People"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Bertsche, Rachel.
Bertsche, Rachel. (OCoLC)fst01911908
Journalists -- United States -- Biography.
Fame -- Social aspects -- United States.
Celebrities in mass media.
Celebrities in mass media. (OCoLC)fst00850108
Fame -- Social aspects. (OCoLC)fst00920130
Journalists. (OCoLC)fst00984188
United States. (OCoLC)fst01204155
Genre Electronic books.
Biography. (OCoLC)fst01423686
Other Form: Electronic reproduction of (manifestation): Bertsche, Rachel. Jennifer, Gwyneth & me New York : Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2014] 9780345543226 (DLC) 2014005615 (OCoLC)858126298
ISBN 9780345543233 : $45.00
0345543238 : $45.00
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information