Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

LEADER 00000cam  2200301 i 4500 
001    sky279177803 
003    SKY 
005    20160307154331.0 
008    151022s2015    nyua   e      001 0 eng d 
020    9781605989389 
020    160598938X 
040    |dSKYRV|erda|dUtOrBLW 
092    306.9|bSCH 
100 1  Schillace, Brandy,|eauthor. 
245 10 Death's summer coat :|bwhat the history of death and dying
       can tell us about life and living /|cBrandy Schillace. 
250    First Pegasus Books hardcover edition. 
264  1 New York :|bPegasus Books,|c2016. 
264  4 |c©2015 
300    266 pages :|billustrations ;|c24 cm 
336    text|btxt|2rdacontent 
337    unmediated|bn|2rdamedia 
338    volume|bnc|2rdacarrier 
504    Includes bibliographical references (page 239-258) and 
       index. 
520    In the tradition of Being Mortal, Brandy Schillace looks 
       at what we can learn from the incredibly diverse ways in 
       which humans have dealt with mortality in different times 
       and places  Death is something we all confrontit touches 
       our families, our homes, our hearts. And yet we have grown
       used to denying its existence, treating it as an enemy to 
       be beaten back with medical advances.  We are living at a 
       unique point in human history. People are living longer 
       than ever, yet the longer we live, the more taboo and 
       alien our mortality becomes. Yet we, and our loved ones, 
       still remain mortal. People today still struggle with this
       fact, as we have done throughout our entire history. What 
       led us to this point? What drove us to sanitize death and 
       make it foreign and unfamiliar?  Schillace shows how 
       talking about death, and the rituals associated with it, 
       can help provide answers. It also brings us closer 
       togetherconversation and community are just as important 
       for living as for dying. Some of the stories are 
       strikingly unfamiliar; others are far more familiar than 
       you might suppose. But all reveal much about the 
       presentand about ourselves. 
650  0 Death|xSocial aspects. 
650  0 Death in popular culture. 
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Nonfiction  306.9 SCH    AVAILABLE