Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author O'Malley, Suzanne, 1951-

Title "Are you there alone?": the unspeakable crime of Andrea Yates [Hoopla electronic resource] / Suzanne O'Malley.

Edition Abridged.
Imprint [United States] : Simon & Schuster Audio : Made available through hoopla, 2004.
QR Code
Description 1 online resource (1 audio file (360 min.)) : digital.
Access Digital content provided by hoopla.
Cast Read by Becky Ann Baker.
Summary In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song, and A Civil Action, Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal drama surrounding it. As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, Andrea Yates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses. O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041. O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case. In "Are You There Alone?" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system.
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject Yates, Andrea.
Infanticide -- Texas -- Houston. -- Sound recordings.
Filicide -- Texas -- Houston. -- Sound recordings.
Women murderers -- Texas -- Houston. -- Sound recordings.
Trials (Murder) -- Texas -- Harris County. -- Sound recordings.
Postpartum psychiatric disorders -- Texas -- Houston. -- Sound recordings.
Added Author Baker, Becky Ann.
hoopla digital.
ISBN 9780743539296 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
074353929X (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Music No. MWT11373716
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EAUDIOBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information