Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Record 4 of 4
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Milchman, Jenny.

Title Cover of snow [OverDrive electronic resource] : a novel / Jenny Milchman.

Publication Info. New York : Ballantine Books, [2013]
QR Code
Description 1 online resource
Note Electronic book.
Summary "Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown. and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"-- Provided by publisher.
"On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"-- Provided by publisher.
Reproduction Electronic reproduction. New York Random House Publishing Group 2013 Available via World Wide Web.
Subject Widows -- Fiction.
Small cities -- Fiction.
Conspiracies -- Fiction.
Adirondack Mountains (N.Y.) -- Fiction.
Genre Suspense fiction.
Electronic books.
Added Author OverDrive, Inc.
ISBN 9780345534231 (electronic bk.)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information
Find another book like this at Novelist