Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Milchman, Jenny, author.

Title As night falls [OverDrive electronic resource] : a novel / Jenny Milchman.

Publication Info. New York : Ballantine Books, [2015]
QR Code
Description 1 online resource
text file rda
Fiction marcgt
eBook tlcgt
General tlctarget
Note Electronic book.
Summary "From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family--a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Gazing out at the shadowy woods, Sandy has no idea that tonight her life will be forever changed. As a late autumn sky darkens over the Adirondack mountains, and the threat of a heavy snowfall looms, the mood in the Tremont house is already charged with tension. Upstairs in her bedroom, teenage Ivy listens to music and broods, while below in the kitchen, Sandy sips coffee and tries not to take her daughter's latest snit personally. But when her husband Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives home, the troubled atmosphere immediately lightens--and Sandy can push all the discord to the back of her mind. Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light, bloodstained and determined to leave no loose ends or witnesses. After nearly two decades as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house, its spacious windows revealing a cozy scene within, Nick instinctually knows that here he will find what he's looking for--before disappearing north. When he opens the door to the Tremont home, Nick brings with him a long legacy of terror. Armed with only the truth, Sandy must fight to protect the family she loves, even as a terrible secret threatens to drag her into the darkness. Praise for Jenny Milchman Ruin Falls "Tight and suspenseful. Milchman has a gift that allows her to delve deep into the mind and psyche of her characters, and fans of dark plots like the works of Gillian Flynn will find another author to savor."--RT Book Reviews "Extreme, heart-pounding action. essential for psychological thriller fanatics."--Library Journal "A complex and intriguing tale, adeptly pacing the narrative as
danger escalates."--Publishers Weekly Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Personal "An emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. a richly woven story."--Booklist (starred review) "Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters."--The Seattle Times"-- Provided by publisher.
Reproduction Electronic reproduction. New York Random House Publishing Group 2015 Available via World Wide Web.
Subject Escaped prisoners -- Fiction.
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Family secrets -- Fiction.
Hostages -- Fiction.
Genre Psychological fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Electronic books.
Added Author OverDrive, Inc., distributor.
ISBN 9780553394825 (electronic bk.)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information
Find another book like this at Novelist