Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Record 2 of 6
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Hegi, Ursula, author.

Title The patron saint of pregnant girls / Ursula Hegi.

Edition First edition.
Publication Info. New York : Flatiron Books, 2020.
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Fiction  F HEGI    AVAILABLE
 Naper Blvd. Adult Fiction  F HEGI    AVAILABLE
 Nichols Adult Fiction  F HEGI    AVAILABLE
QR Code
Description 274 pages ; 25 cm
Summary "From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus has come to the island Nordstrand in Germany. Big-bellied girls rush from St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls, thrilled to see the parade and the show, followed by the Sisters who care for them. The Old Women and Men, competing to be crowned as the island's Oldest Person, watch, thinking they have seen it all. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, still just a child herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's. And all three will end up helping each other more than they ever could have anticipated. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shattering portrait of marriage and motherhood, and of the ways in which women hold each other up in the face of heartbreak"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Mothers -- Fiction.
Female friendship -- Fiction.
Genre Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
ISBN 9781250156822 (hardcover)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
BOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information
Find another book like this at Novelist