Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Hassinger, Amy, 1972-

Title The priest's madonna [Hoopla electronic resource] / Amy Hassinger.

Edition Unabridged.
Imprint [United States] : Listen & Live Audio, Inc. : Made available through hoopla, 2006.
QR Code
Description 1 online resource (1 audio file (600 min.)) : digital.
Access Digital content provided by hoopla.
Cast Read by Anna Fields.
Summary For fans of The Birth of Venus, Girl with a Pearl Earring, and The Other Boleyn Girl, Amy Hassinger, author of Nina: Adolescence, delivers this historically lush, lyrical and thoroughly enthralling novel about the forbidden love between a woman and a holy man, and about the moral and spiritual struggles of faith. In 1896, the priest in a small village in southern France suddenly came into possession of immense wealth. This much is true. What no one knows for sure is where his money came from. The history of the region suggests that he may have stumbled upon clues to a hidden treasure of the Knights Templar. An even more tantalizing possibility is that he discovered coded documents hidden in the structure of his church, documents so threatening to the Catholic Church that he was paid to keep silent. At his death under mysterious circumstances in 1917, his secrets died with him. Yet there is one other person who may have known all--Marie Dernanaud, the priest's housekeeper and, some say, his lover. Interweaving the history of France at the turn of the twentieth century, scenes of ancient Judea, and the romantic and religious journey of a spirited and intense heroine, The Priest's Madonna gives Marie a chance to tell her version of what transpired-as well as her own story of belief, doubt, and illicit passions.
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Subject Saunière, Bérenger, 1852-1917 -- Fiction.
Mary Magdalene, Saint -- Cult -- Fiction.
Rennes-le-Château (France) -- Fiction.
Housekeepers -- Fiction. -- Sound recordings.
Occultists -- Fiction. -- Sound recordings.
Catholics -- Fiction. -- Sound recordings.
Clergy -- Fiction. -- Sound recordings.
Grail -- Fiction. -- Sound recordings.
Added Author Fields, Anna, 1965-2006. Narrator.
hoopla digital.
ISBN 9781593163471 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
1593163479 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Music No. MWT11002013
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EAUDIOBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information
Find another book like this at Novelist