Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Limit search to available items
Results Page:  Previous Next

Title Eugene Onegin [(DVD) videorecording] / [music by] Tchaikovsky.

Publication Info. London : Decca, [2007]
Location Call No. Status
 Nichols Adult DVD Nonfiction  782.1 EUG    AVAILABLE
QR Code
Description 1 videodisc (175 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
System Details DVD; widescreen, LPCM stereo. or DTS 5.1 surround; NTSC, region 0 (all regions).
Language Sung in Russian; subtitles in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Chinese.
Note Opera in 3 acts.
Libretto by the composer and Konstantin Stepanovich Shilovsky, after the verse novel by Pushkin.
Features: Eugene Onegin in rehearsal ; Backstage at the Met with Beverly Sills.
Program notes by Alexander Poznansky, originally printed in the Metropolitan Opera Playbill in accompanying booklet.
Synopsis by John Warrack in accompanying booklet.
For specific features see interactive menu.
Cast Renée Fleming, soprano ; Elena Zaremba, contralto ; Svetlana Volkova, Laris Shevchenko, mezzo-soprano ; Ramón Vargas, Jean-Paul Fouchécourt, tenor ; Dmitri Hvorostovsky, baritone ; Keith Miller, Richard Bernstein, Sergei Aleksashkin, bass ; The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Chorus and Ballet ; Valery Gergiev, conductor.
Event Filmed at the Metropolitan Opera, New York, Feb. 2007.
Credits Video production directed by Brian Large.
Summary Tatiana falls in love with Onegin who urges her to forget him. Onegin kills a man in a duel and travels abroad. Six years later he meets Tatiana again, but she is married.
Contents Disc one. Act 1 ; bonus features -- disc two. Acts 2 & 3.
Subject Operas -- Videodiscs.
Operas -- Television adaptations -- Videodiscs.
Operas -- Film adaptations -- Videodiscs.
Russian language materials.
Genre Musical films.
Russian language materials.
Added Author Fleming, Renée, performer.
Zaremba, Elena, performer.
Volkova, Svetlana, performer.
Shevchenko, Larisa, performer.
Vargas, Ramón, performer.
Hvorostovsky, Dmitri, performer.
Miller, Keith (Bass), performer.
Fouchécourt, Jean-Paul, performer.
Bernstein, Richard (Bass-baritone), performer.
Aleksashkin, Sergeĭ, 1954- performer.
Gergiev, Valeriĭ, 1953- conductor.
Large, Brian.
Shilovskiĭ, K. (Konstantin), 1849-1893, librettist.
Pushkin, Aleksandr Sergeevich, 1799-1837. Evgeniĭ Onegin.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich, 1840-1893. Evgeniĭ Onegin.
Metropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.). Orchestra.
Metropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.). Chorus.
Metropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.). Ballet.
Standard No. 044007432488
Music No. B00010525-09 Decca
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
No one has rated this material

You can...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information