Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Ostler, Catherine, author.

Title THE DUCHESS COUNTESS : THE WOMAN WHO SCANDALIZED EIGHTEENTH-CENTURY LONDON / Catherine Ostler.

Edition Large print edition.
Publication Info. Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2022.
©2021
2 holds on first copy returned of 2 copies
Location Call No. Status
 Naper Blvd. Adult Large Type Nonfiction  941.07 OST    AVAILABLE
 Nichols Adult Large Type Nonfiction  941.07 OST    DUE 02-28-23
QR Code
Description 667 pages, 16 pages of plates (large print) : illustrations, portraits ; 22 cm.
Physical Medium large print rda
Series Thorndike Press large print nonfiction
Thorndike Press large print nonfiction series.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Contents Countess -- Duchess -- Duchess Countess.
Summary "Discover the adventurous life of the stylish and scandalous Elizabeth Chudleigh, Duchess of Kingston--a woman whose infamous trial was bigger news in British society than the American War of Independence. "Bridgerton fans take note: For sheer incident and drama, Chudleigh's story rivals any episode of the popular Regency-era Netflix series. And it's all true" (The Washington Post). As maid of honor to the Princess of Wales, Elizabeth Chudleigh enjoyed a luxurious life in the inner circle of the Hanoverian court. With her extraordinary style and engaging wit, she both delighted and scandalized the press and public. She would later even inspire William Thackeray when he was writing his classic Vanity Fair, providing the inspiration for the alluring social climber Becky Sharp. But Elizabeth's real story is more complex and surprising than anything out of fiction. A clandestine, candlelit wedding to the young heir to an earldom, a second marriage to a duke, a lust for diamonds, and an electrifying appearance at a masquerade ball in a gossamer dress--it's no wonder that Elizabeth's eventual trial was a sensation. Charged with bigamy, an accusation she vehemently fought against, Elizabeth refused to submit to public humiliation and retire quietly. "A superb, gripping, decadent, colorful biography that brings an extraordinary woman and a whole world blazingly to life" (Simon Sebag Montefiore, New York Times bestselling author), The Duchess Countess is perfect for fans of Bridgerton, Women of Means, and The Crown."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Bristol, Elizabeth Chudleigh, Countess of, 1720-1788.
Kingston, Evelyn Pierrepont, Duke of, 1711-1773 -- Relations with women.
Countesses -- Great Britain -- Biography.
Nobility -- Great Britain -- Biography.
Mistresses -- Great Britain -- Biography.
Scandals -- Great Britain -- History -- 18th century.
Trials (Bigamy) -- Great Britain -- History -- 18th century.
Great Britain -- History -- 1714-1837.
Genre Biographies.
Large type books.
ISBN 9798885781565 (large print : hardcover)
888578156E (large print : hardcover)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
LARGE TYPE
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information