Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

LEADER 00000nam  2200349Ka 4500 
006    m        d         
007    cr cn--------- 
008    191126s2020    nyu     s     000 1 eng d 
020    9781496715876 (electronic bk) 
037    349628E1-611F-4943-BB91-14F028746F88|bOverDrive, Inc.
       |nhttp://www.overdrive.com 
040    TEFOD|cTEFOD 
100 1  Wiseman, Ellen Marie. 
245 14 The orphan collector|h[OverDrive electronic resource] :|bA
       heroic novel of survival during the 1918 influenza 
       pandemic.|cEllen Marie Wiseman. 
260    |c2020. 
300    1 online resource 
336    text|btxt|2rdacontent 
337    computer|bc|2rdamedia 
338    online resource|bcr|2rdacarrier 
520    From the internationally bestselling author of    What She
       Left Behind comes  a gripping and powerful tale of 
       upheaval—a heartbreaking saga of resilience and hope
       perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Kristin Hannah&
       #8212;set in Philadelphia during the 1918 Spanish Flu 
       outbreak—the deadly pandemic that went on to infect 
       one-third of the world's population...      In the fall of
       1918, thirteen-year-old German immigrant Pia Lange longs 
       to be far from Philadelphia's overcrowded slums and the 
       anti-immigrant sentiment that compelled her father to 
       enlist in the U.S. Army. But as her city celebrates the 
       end of war, an even more urgent threat arrives: the 
       Spanish flu. Funeral crepe and quarantine signs appear on 
       doors as victims drop dead in the streets and desperate 
       survivors wear white masks to ward off illness. When food 
       runs out in the cramped tenement she calls home, Pia must 
       venture alone into the quarantined city in search of 
       supplies, leaving her baby brothers behind.    Bernice 
       Groves has become lost in grief and bitterness since her 
       baby died from the Spanish flu. Watching Pia leave her 
       brothers alone, Bernice makes a shocking, life-altering 
       decision. It becomes her sinister mission to tear families
       apart when they're at their most vulnerable, planning to 
       transform the city's orphans and immigrant children into 
       what she feels are "true Americans."    Waking in a 
       makeshift hospital days after collapsing in the street, 
       Pia is frantic to return home. Instead, she is taken to 
       St. Vincent's Orphan Asylum – the first step in a 
       long and arduous journey. As Bernice plots to keep the 
       truth hidden at any cost in the months and years that 
       follow, Pia must confront her own shame and fear, risking 
       everything to see justice – and love – triumph
       at last. Powerful, harrowing, and ultimately exultant,  
       The Orphan Collector  is a story of love, resilience, and 
       the lengths we will go to protect those who need us most. 
533    Electronic reproduction.|bLaVergne :|cKensington Books,
       |d2020.|nRequires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or 
       Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1045 KB) or Kobo app or
       compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB). 
650  7 Literature. 
650 17 Fiction. 
655  7 Historical Fiction.|2lcgft 
655  7 Electronic books.|2local 
776 1  |cOriginal|z9781496715869 
856 4  |3Excerpt|uhttps://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=349628e1-
       611f-4943-bb91-14f028746f88&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
       |zSample 
856 4  |3Image|uhttps://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/6852-1/
       %7B349628E1-611F-4943-BB91-14F028746F88%7DImg100.jpg
       |zLarge cover image 
856 4  |3Thumbnail|uhttps://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/6852-1/
       %7B349628E1-611F-4943-BB91-14F028746F88%7DImg200.jpg
       |zThumbnail cover image 
856 40 |uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=81&titleID=5080402
       |zClick to access digital title.