Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
854 results found. Sorted by relevance | date | title .
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Maslo, Lina, author, illustrator.

Title Through the wardrobe : how C. S. Lewis created Narnia / Lina Maslo.

Edition First edition.
Publication Info. New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]
©2020
1 hold on first copy returned of 2 copies
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Juvenile Nonfiction-NEW  J 921 LEW    DUE 08-28-20
 Nichols Juvenile Nonfiction-NEW  J 921 LEW    DUE 08-29-20
QR Code
Description 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 30 cm
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Summary A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia--from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children. As a child, Clive Staples Lewis imagined many things . . . heroic animals and knights in armor and a faraway land called Boxen. He even thought of a new name for himself--at four years old, he decided he was more of a Jack. As he grew up, though, Jack found that the real world was not as just as the one in his imagination. No magic could heal the sick or stop a war, and a bully's words could pierce as sharply as a sword. So Jack withdrew into books and eventually became a well-known author for adults. But he never forgot the epic tales of his boyhood, and one day a young girl's question about an old family wardrobe inspired him to write a children's story about a world hidden beyond its fur coats . . . a world of fauns and queens and a lion named Aslan. A world of battles between good and evil, where people learned courage and love and forgiveness. A magical realm called Narnia. And the books he would write about this kingdom would change his life and that of children the world over.
Audience Ages 4-8.
Subject Lewis, C. S. (Clive Staples), 1898-1963 -- Juvenile literature.
Authors, English -- 20th century -- Biography -- Juvenile literature.
Children's stories, English -- History and criticism -- Juvenile literature.
Fantasy fiction, English -- History and criticism -- Juvenile literature.
Narnia (Imaginary place) -- Juvenile literature.
Genre Biographies.
Picture books.
Illustrated works.
ISBN 9780062798565
0062798561
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
BOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information