Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
854 results found. Sorted by relevance | date | title .
Results Page:  Previous Next
Author Forna, Namina.

Title The gilded ones [OverDrive electronic resource]. Namina Forna.

Imprint 2021.
QR Code
Description 1 online resource
Series Deathless.
Summary "Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy."–Refinery 29 " The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch." —Kiersten White, New York Times betselling author of And I Darken The start of a bold and immersive West African-inspired, feminist fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther . In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs. But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity–and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death. Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki–near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire's greatest threat. Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she's ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be–not even Deka herself.
Audience Text Difficulty 3 - Text Difficulty 4
780 Lexile.
Reproduction Electronic reproduction. New York : Delacorte Press, 2021. Requires Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 5 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Subject Fantasy.
Mythology.
Genre Young Adult Fiction.
Electronic books.
Other Form: Original 9781984848697
ISBN 9781984848703 (electronic bk)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
EBOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information