Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Limit search to available items
Author Bstan-ʼdzin-rgya-mtsho, Dalai Lama XIV, 1935- author.

Title Following in the Buddha's footsteps / Bhikṣu Tenzin Gyatso, the Fourteenth Dalai Lama and Bhikṣuṇī Thubten Chodron.

Publication Info. Somerville, MA, USA : Wisdom, [2019]
Location Call No. Status
 Nichols Adult Nonfiction-NEW  294.3444 BST    AVAILABLE
QR Code
Description xxi, 520 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Series Library of wisdom and compassion ; volume 4.
Contents Trustworthy spiritual guidance -- Qualities of the Buddha, Dharma, and Saṅgha -- Heartfelt connection to the three jewels -- The higher training in ethical conduct -- Sangha: the monastic community -- The higher training in concentration and the perfection of meditative stability -- Obstacles and antidotes -- The meditative absorptions -- Concentration in the Pli tradition -- The practice of serenity in Chinese Buddhism -- Higher training in wisdom: the role of mindfulness and introspective awareness -- The four establishments of mindfulness: body, feelings, and mind -- The four establishments of mindfulness: phenomena -- The thirty-seven harmonies with awakening.
Summary "The fourth volume of the Dalai Lama's definitive series on the path to awakening, The Three Jewels of Refuge and the Three Higher Trainings, delves into the substance of spiritual practice. You'll first hear His Holiness's explanation of the Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha, why they are reliable guides on the path, and how to relate to them. His Holiness then describes the three essential trainings common to all Buddhist traditions: the higher trainings in ethical conduct, concentration, and wisdom. The chapters on ethical conduct show us how to live a life free of harm to self or others. Those on concentration give us detailed instructions on how to develop single-pointed concentration as well as the higher states of concentration available to an earnest practitioner. The chapters on wisdom contain in-depth teachings on the noble eightfold path and the four establishments of mindfulness for developing greater awareness and understanding of our body, feelings, mind, and other phenomena. Together these topics form the core of Buddhist practice"-- Provided by publisher.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Subject Threefold refuge.
Enlightenment (Buddhism)
Buddhism -- Doctrines.
Added Author Thubten Chodron, 1950- author.
ISBN 9781614296256 (hardcover : alk. paper)
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
No one has rated this material

You can...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information