Library Hours
Monday to Friday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Naper Blvd. 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
     
Limit search to available items
Author Schillace, Brandy, author.

Title Death's summer coat : what the history of death and dying can tell us about life and living / Brandy Schillace.

Edition First Pegasus Books hardcover edition.
Publication Info. New York : Pegasus Books, 2016.
©2015
Location Call No. Status
 95th Street Adult Nonfiction  306.9 SCH    ON HOLDSHELF
QR Code
Description 266 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Summary In the tradition of Being Mortal, Brandy Schillace looks at what we can learn from the incredibly diverse ways in which humans have dealt with mortality in different times and places Death is something we all confrontit touches our families, our homes, our hearts. And yet we have grown used to denying its existence, treating it as an enemy to be beaten back with medical advances. We are living at a unique point in human history. People are living longer than ever, yet the longer we live, the more taboo and alien our mortality becomes. Yet we, and our loved ones, still remain mortal. People today still struggle with this fact, as we have done throughout our entire history. What led us to this point? What drove us to sanitize death and make it foreign and unfamiliar? Schillace shows how talking about death, and the rituals associated with it, can help provide answers. It also brings us closer togetherconversation and community are just as important for living as for dying. Some of the stories are strikingly unfamiliar; others are far more familiar than you might suppose. But all reveal much about the presentand about ourselves.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (page 239-258) and index.
Subject Death -- Social aspects.
Death in popular culture.
ISBN 9781605989389
160598938X
Patron reviews: add a review
Click for more information
BOOK
No one has rated this material

You can...
Also...
- Find similar reads
- Add a review
- Sign-up for Newsletter
- Suggest a purchase
- Can't find what you want?
More Information